Silver electrical contacts

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

razzel8

Hello all. I have read this forum and am amazed at the info I have found here. I have an electrical degree and work in and around relays, starters, and breakers. I have seen on this web site and through other internet searches that many of these contacts have either a silver alloy or solid silver tip. From what I can gather it is a lot of trouble and maybe dangerous to a persons health to separate these but it seems as thou some of you have had some success. The question I have is what's a good way to know if they are even silver to begin with? Surely not every one is tested? Some relays and starters state right on them the silver percent but the majority do not say anything, yet the tips look the same. These are currently going in the trash when I have determined them to be faulty as my company has no interest in any scrap value. I have also downloaded and read Hokes books and as much info as i can find on silver and gold refining but have never tried anything. At this stage I am just fascinated at what many on here have accomplished and just in an accumulating mode.
Thanks.
Raz

razzel8, electrical and electronic use of these metals is a big part of why they are mined.
Silver gold and even platinum group metals are used in the electrical and electronic products.

you do not have to always test for these metals when you know where they are and when they use them, sometimes we may test for them other times we know where they are used, sometimes you can even see the metal, many time's you cannot see the metals your trying to recover.