Silver Cell Parameters - Best practices

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JSRoeth

This is my first time to post on a subject.
I have followed Sreetips on YouTube and tried to follow his outline for starting up a Silver Cell.

The questions I have are more along the line of Best Practices.
Here are the parameters of my cell's construction:
* My cell is in a 16 liter stainless steel pot
* The total area in square inches (round sides and flat bottom) is 427 square inches
* The Diameter is 11 inches with a 5.5" radius
* I use a Rubber Made basket which is 4.5" x 4.5" x 4" deep
* Holds 4 pounds of cemented to silver popcorn shot.
* The electrolyte is created by using silver cement shot at 150 grams per liter (2,400 grams in electrolyte) with excess silver remaining after cooking until no fumes are present.
* I use the same dacron filter bag that Streetips uses
* The temperature of the electrolyte is ambient which today is 90 degrees
* I wrapped an 8 gauge copper wire around the outside the pot thinking the ground would evenly distribute contact on the upper and lower sides of the stainless steel outside.
* I read in a forum that circulation is a benefit so I placed my cell on my magnetic stirrer and rotate the egg at 200 RPMs.

First Question is about the size of my shot basket. With the volume I have described of my cel, is this basket considered on the small side or does the size of the basket not make a difference?

Second Question: my amps can easily reach 3.0 yet my voltage is at best 1.8 volts, does the size of my cell cause a lower maximum voltage since 1.7 to 1.8 is about all I can register?

Third Question: Would adding heat to the electrolyte improve the performance of volume of crystals generated in a 24 hour cycle?