Accomplished nothing so far

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Edwin Price

Supporting Member
Hello all. I was a much better engineer than I am a gold recovery chemist. I have disassembled a workstation, two laptops, a cell phone and multiple other electronics and recovered absolutely nothing so far. I have used aqua regia on computer parts after breaking them down in nitric or hydrochloric acid or even cleaning with lye. After washing the parts with water and heating in aqua regia, I get what appears as a yellow or green liquid. The solution tests weakly for gold (light purple from stanneous chloride). After killing nitric with urea, I've added sodium metabisulfite, which the solution gobbles up, but never produces any tangible precipitate. On two occasions I've gotten violent overflows. But nothing really ever drops from the solution. Any suggestions as to what I'm doing wrong would be much appreciated. Thank you.

Doesn't sound like you're doing anything wrong Edwin. I think the problem lies in the scale of what you're doing. You're getting the right results but you don't have enough raw product to get a visible amount of physical gold, if what you're saying here is accurate. From a weak purple test you might get a light dusting (volume dependent) and that's about it.

Nailing the processes is good, now you need to get plenty more gold into the solution. Edit: My post assumes that you are testing negative after adding SMB. If not then you haven't denoxxed and Sulphamic Acid is much better at doing this than Urea.